Save up to 75% on insurance

Cheapest rates from just $19 a month

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

QuoteLab.com


Auto Insurance in Maryland

The State of Maryland currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

Penalties for driving without auto insurance are strict in the State of Maryland. Be prepared to show proof of insurance if you happen to be pulled over or are involved in a car accident. Your registration can be revoked and your license plates will be collected from your vehicle if you fail to show proof of insurance. Should you neglect to pay your insurance premium, for any reason, you should correct the problem immediately. If you do not address the problem, you will be fined $150 for the first 30 days, and $7 per day after that.

Maryland Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of Maryland. The minimum liability amounts for the State of Maryland are as follows:

  • $30,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $60,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $15,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of Maryland currently requires UM/UIM coverage for bodily injury and property damage with the same minimum coverage requirements as is required for all liability policies (30/60/15).

No-Fault Insurance

Maryland is a not no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

The State of Maryland current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

Maryland SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Maryland currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Maryland DUI Laws

For the first DUI offense in the State of Maryland, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • Up to 1 year imprisonment
  • Up to 2 years if minor is present in vehicle
  • Minimum 6 month license suspension
  • Up to $1,000 fine
  • Up to $2,000 fine if minor is present in vehicle

Additional Information on Maryland Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Maryland Insurance Administration at (410) 468-2000 or go to their website at www.mdinsurance.state.md.us.

Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in Maryland.