Save up to 75% on insurance

Cheapest rates from just $19 a month

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

QuoteLab.com


Auto Insurance in Massachusetts

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts used to operate under a "fixed and established" system for setting auto insurance premiums, where the Commonwealth determined what auto insurance rates would be, rather than the insurance companies. Under this system, all Massachusetts insurance companies charged the same premiums, based on particular categories of rates, for every driver. Massachusetts has since changed its auto insurance system to introduce managed competition. This means that Massachusetts drivers can compare companies and choose the coverage they want. It also allows insurers to be more competitive by setting their own rates. The new system went into effect in 2008 and applies to individuals who purchase or renew insurance policies on or after April 1st, 2008.

Massachusetts Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. The minimum liability amounts for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts are as follows:

  • $20,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $40,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $5,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts currently requires UM/UIM coverage, with minimum coverage limits of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident.

No-Fault Insurance

Massachusetts is a no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is required (see PIP below)

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that pays for medical expenses, rehabilitation, funeral expenses, lost wages, and in-home assistance for you and your passengers injured in an accident, regardless of who is at fault (i.e., no-fault). Passengers who own their own cars collect under their own policies.

As a no-fault state, the Commonwealth of Massachusetts current requires drivers to carry PIP insurance with a minimum coverage limit of $8,000.

Massachusetts SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Massachusetts currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Massachusetts DUI Laws

For the first DUI offense in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • Up to 30 months imprisonment
  • $500 to $5,000 fine
  • $250 assessment fine
  • $50 DUI victim trust fund fine
  • 1 year license suspension
  • Court assigned treatment program

Additional Information on Massachusetts Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Massachusetts Division of Insurance at (617) 521-7794 or go to their website at www.mass.gov/doi.

Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in Massachusetts.