Save up to 75% on insurance

Cheapest rates from just $19 a month

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

QuoteLab.com


Auto Insurance in Vermont

The State of Vermont currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

If a police officer in Vermont asks you for evidence of insurance and you cannot present it at the time, you will be given 20 days to provide proof before being subjected to penalties. If you are caught without auto insurance, you will receive a ticket, be charged a $100 fine, and have two points added to your license. Another consequence of being uninsured is that you will be required to file proof of Financial Responsibility Insurance with the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles.

In addition to the penalties mentioned above, your license will be revoked by the Vermont Commissioner of Motor Vehicles if you are driving uninsured while in one of the following situations: when involved in an accident, fleeing a collision, driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, driving a car without the consent of the car's owner, driving while your license is suspended or when it has already been revoked, or while driving in a reckless manner that results in the death of another person.

Vermont Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of Vermont. The minimum liability amounts for the State of Vermont are as follows:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $50,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $10,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of Vermont requires UM/UIM coverage with limits of:

  • $50,000 bodily injury protection per person
  • $100,000 bodily injury protection per accident
  • $10,000 property damage protection per claim

No-Fault Insurance

Vermont is a not no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

The State of Vermont current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

Vermont SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

Vermont currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

Vermont DUI Laws

For the first DUI offense in the State of Vermont, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • Up to 2 years imprisonment
  • Up to $750 fine
  • 90 day license suspension
  • Minimum $160 DUI surcharge
  • Alcohol and driving education program
  • Treatment assessment
  • Therapy program

Additional Information on Vermont Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the Vermont Department of Banking, Insurance, Securities and Health Care Administration at (802) 828-3301 or go to their website at www.bishca.state.vt.us.

Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in VT.